Moving your recordings to a new Tablo

If you replace your Tablo DVR the process below will allow you to migrate your existing recordings and schedule data to your new unit.

 

Note: For this process to work, your NEW Tablo must be taken directly out of the box. If you've already run a channel scan on your new Tablo, you will need to factory reset it for these instructions to work. If you have connected to your new Tablo already, note its firmware version. The new Tablo must be on the same firmware version as your original unit. Our support team can also check this for you, so don't hesitate to send us a ticket.

 

Step 1: Reboot your original Tablo with the USB drive attached using the blue reset button on the back of the Tablo. Wait for the Tablo’s blue LED to go solid. This can take up to ~2 minutes.

Step 2: Remove the USB drive from your original Tablo and set it aside.

Step 3: Attach Ethernet and power (in that order) to your new Tablo.

Step 4: After your Tablo’s LED is solid, attach your USB drive to your new Tablo.

Step 5: After a few seconds your Tablo’s LED will begin pulsing.

At this point, it is transferring your original Tablo’s database to your new Tablo. This can take several minutes.

Once your new Tablo is finished downloading the database it will reboot. The process is complete once the Tablo’s LED is solid.

PLEASE NOTE: If you run into any issues with the transfer and can't get it to work, make sure the drive doesn't remain plugged in to the new Tablo overnight - when Tablo does its nightly maintenance, the drive may get formatted. Just remove the drive and give us a call during support hours for a hand.

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 2 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

Comments

Powered by Zendesk